Board of Directors

The Library Foundation Board of Directors is a group of people committed to building a library system for future generations. Diverse individuals with unique skill sets, the Board provides regular direction, guidance and oversight to the Library Foundation.


Board members are:

  • enthusiastic supporters and patrons of the Library;
  • donors (through money and time);
  • participants of the Library Foundation’s fundraising initiatives and events;
  • promoters of the Library Foundation’s mission, accomplishments and goals; and,
  • connected in the community and willing to develop and maintain relationships among the Board, committees, staff members, community and volunteers.

Board of Directors

Patricia Moore
Chair, Board of Directors


Brenda Nicholls


Bill Ptacek
Library Representative
Calgary Public Library


Marshall Abbott
Board Director
Chairman and CEO
Bernum Petroleum Ltd.

Anthony Giuffre 
Board Director
Avenue Living


Janet Hutchinson
Library Board Representative
Calgary Public Library Board Chair


Carl Landry
Board Director
ARC Financial Group

Barry McNamara 
Board Director
Vice President, Corporate Development and Marketing
Painted Pony Petroleum Ltd.


Debra Giles
Library Board Representative
Managing Director
RBC Capital Markets


Judith Umbach
Board Director
Former Board Chair
Calgary Public Library