Council of Champions

Library Ambassadors

The Council of Champions are passionate about the Calgary Public Library. Committed, enthusiastic and connected, members are ambassadors for the Library and assist the Library Foundation with fundraising and promotion in the community.


Council members are:

  • passionate about the Library;
  • committed and connected customers;
  • donors (through money and time);
  • equipped with a strong general level of awareness of the community which the Library serves;
  • familiar with the opportunities and challenges faced by publicly funded organizations; and,
  • willing to represent the Library and the Library Foundation in the community.


Council of Champions

Judith Umbach
Chair, Council of Champions
Former Board Chair
Calgary Public Library


Marg Anderson


Jesus Atias
Market Development Manager
Dow Chemical ULC


Pamela Beebe
Indigenous Strategist
Vibrant Communities Canada


Jim Campbell
Interim Director, Public Engagement


Dr. Donna Campbell
Instructor, LIT Program, ICT Department
Former Board Member
Calgary Public Library


Erin Collins
Senior Reporter
CBC National News


Ann Craig
Former Board Member
Calgary Public Library


Peter Cutting


Linda Fox-Mellway
LFM Management


Kevin Franco
Entrepreneur in Residence
Innovative Calgary


Julie Freedman Smith
Parenting Power


Deirdre Harris
Chief Operating Officer
Hesperian Capital
Former Board Member,
Calgary Public Library

Adil Hirji
TSX Venture Exchange


Michael Ireton
Writer, Performer and Artist


Barbara Killick
Former Manager, New Central Library Project
Calgary Public Library


Michael Lawson
Relius Consultants Ltd.


Marin Leci
Parlee McLaws LLP


Lindsey Louro
Stewart and Stewart


Alexis Bahry MacKenzie


Gael MacLeod
MacLeod Consulting


Harlene Man


Cherisse Mia


Christopher Nelson
Christopher Nelson Communications


Sheila Newel


Greig Nicholls
Nicholls Consulting Ltd.

Pat O’Reilly
Director, Sustainability
Suncor Energy


Tazmoon Ratanshi
Regional Vice President, Calgary East
RBC Foundation


Mike Simoens


Sabina Shah
Burstall Winder Zammit LLP
Former Board Member
Calgary Public Library


Kenton Shouldice
Founder and CEO
Shouldice Wealth


Nicola Stevens
Economic Development and Trade


Laura Sugiomoto
Lawyer (retired)


Josh Traptow
Executive Director
Calgary Heritage Authority


Jeanette Vega Brauitgam
Founder and Editor in Chief
Modern Socialite


Lois Wozney
Knowledge & Collaboration Specialist
Suncor Energy